A family affair

On Monday I had yoghurt, blueberries and granola for breakfast and later in the morning, a banana/oat slice as we walked to my Aunty’s for our Christmas visit. I politely  declined a biscuit with my coffee. Afterwards, I had a ham salad in Sainsbury’s café and then walked back to my Mum’s. WP_20151228_17_44_40_ProI had a handful of whole nuts during the afternoon and for dinner Mum cooked a beef casserole with carrots and onions. We had it with mashed sweet potato, peas and little kale sprouts that are grown locally and for sale in Marks and Spencer.

I had yoghurt, blueberries and granola again on Tuesday morning. We went out for the morning with my niece and nephew. I took one of my oat slices with me to stop me wanting the chocolate that the others had, however, I realised that it was mouldy and so had a little bit of chocolate orange instead. For lunch we went to Wetherspoon’s and I had ham, eggs and salad. I spent the afternoon with my niece and nephew cooking a shepherd’s pie for seven of us. We made the base purely from vegetables – onion, carrot, celery, chili and garlic blended with a tin of tomatoes – to which we added sautéed lamb mince and mushrooms. Most of the mixture was topped with mashed potato and cheese and a smaller amount that my sister-in-law and I had, was topped with pureed cauliflower. For dessert I had made a chocolate mousse from a pureed avocado, a scoop of chocolate protein powder and some cocoa powder. I didn’t inflict that on the rest of the family – they had homemade apple crumble and/or treacle tart. Later in the evening I ate rather too many chocolate covered almonds I’d opened on Christmas day. When they’re gone, they’re gone. They’re gone.

Leave a comment